First Iron Foodie Contest


Iron Foodie 2010 | Here's Why that will be me:
MarxFoods.com -- Fine Bulk Foods The Foodie BlogRoll

UPDATE: Here’s the finished recipe -

Potlatch Salmon with Umami Risotto

 

Hey all,

I’ve just applied for a spot in the first Iron Foodie contest, hosted by Foodie Blogroll & Marx Foods. 25 challengers will receive a box with 8 secret ingredients. If I’m selected as a challenger, I must use 3 of the 8 ingredients to create MY signature dish.

The first step:

1) Write a blog post answering these questions by November 5th, 2010

So, here we go…

Why do you want to compete in this challenge?

I love to cook. I love to eat. I will be the first Iron Foodie!

Limitations of time/space notwithstanding, whose kitchen would you like to spend the day in & why? Julia Child, Thomas Keller, Ferran Adria, James Beard, Marie-Antoine Careme, or The Swedish Chef?

No hesitation…I would go with Julia. She was the Queen. She pioneered the way for all of the “celebrity” chefs that enjoy the spotlight today. Prometheus-like, Julia Child freed  gourmet cooking from its vaulted, untouchable place in the  commercial kitchen, and delivered it to mankind via millions of living rooms around the world.

The more I’ve learned about her life the more I’ve realized that she had the good sense not to take food, or herself, too seriously. She simply loved cooking and eating good food. That was enough for her, and it’s enough for me. Plus, she was really, really good at it.

There are some amazing chefs on T.V. now days…but Julia did it first.

(Btw…where the heck is Andrew Zimmern on this list? C’mon, how fun would THAT guy’s kitchen be?)

What morsel are you most likely to swipe from family & friends’ plates when they aren’t looking?

Bread. Always bread…the staff of life. I’m lucky enough to have two friends who are both amazing bakers. I often bring the entree, but I’m far more interested in the bread! Fresh from the oven, still steaming, sweet cream butter melting across a tawny, crackling crust…what’s better than that?

Sum your childhood up in one meal.

Macaroni and Cheese. Simple, inexpensive, comforting and made with love. For me, Mac & Cheese means family.

The one mainstream food you can’t stand?

Chicken breast. Even when cooked to perfection, which is a rare occurrence, chicken breast typically bores me to tears. It tends to be a protein filler that is completely dependent on the rest of the ingredients to make it memorable or even palatable. Just about anything you can do to a chicken breast, you can do to a lamb chop, or a pork loin, or a good hunk of beef…with exponentially better results.

Yawn.

-Perry

29 Comments

Filed under Contests

29 responses to “First Iron Foodie Contest

  1. Kathy

    dude, you rock. It’s like you read my hungry thoughts, but, touch my bread and it’s all over! People have lost their lives over less.

  2. Perry, everything you post makes me want to cook. I hope you get a spot because I know you will rock what ever it is!

  3. Perry, I’m with you on the mac and cheese. Grew up on the stuff and it still evokes those warm fuzzy tones of home. A real foodie knows not to through out the comfort food for the sake of high brow appearances.

    I think you hit the nail on the head with chicken breast meat too…and I like chicken. It may be a healthier meat but I have to agree, many other cuts of meat have more flavor, better texture and will stay moist when cooked. Oh and they don’t have to be soaked in a brine to stay moist either. I think we have been sold a bill of goods by someone in marketing when I go to fix what I hope will be a beautiful meal only to have it be more like trying to chew a sock.

    Rooting for you! You already are an Iron Foodie in my book!

    ~Patty~

  4. dana

    we are happy to share our kitchen with you. my favorrite part of all this is the tears of laughter when we are preparing all this. dude, we will make you bread any time for an entree.

  5. steve vowell

    Your posts make me want to FEEEEEEEEEED!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. amy

    Perry, you really have a way with words…I would watch/read any show you were involved in – especially cooking ones! hope you get the spot!

  7. di

    Go for it! I completely think you are the epitome of an Iron Foodie! I’m excited for you to be able to compete in this contest.
    Your blog above is well written. I agree that Julia Child really started it all–she made “snooty” attainable.
    Have a blast!
    P.S. Can I be a taste tester?

  8. Thanks everyone, I really appreciate your kind words!

    Di -yes.

    – Perry

    PS – As much as I love Julia, I’d be a hypocrite if I didn’t admit that every time someone mentions her name, I still hear Dan Akroyd’s falsetto saying, “Oh, I’ve cut the DICKENS out of my finger!” – P

  9. Terry

    You’ve got it Perry.
    3 of 8 ingredients???!!
    “Damn the torpedoes, full steam ahead!”

    Great points about Julia.
    James Beard or Thomas Keller for me cause I can “get” to Julia’s kitchen via reruns but I’ve never seen the inner sanctums of Beard or Keller…and Beard is a local legend.

  10. Kathy

    I am fixing chicken breast for dinner, but I get credit for the Marsala wine and portabella mushrooms..right?

  11. Okay, so confession time…I’m a gutless flip-flopper for a good Chicken Marsala…

  12. Pingback: Tweets that mention First Iron Foodie Contest « Burnin' Love BBQ – The Blog -- Topsy.com

  13. Haha! Excellent answers. Except you made me hungry. And also, what’d poor chicken ever do to you? I like chicken breast…except I make my husband cut it up and remove all the veins for me.

    I like chicken as opposed to ground beef, because you never run into gristle.

    Totes agree about the bread, though. And Julia.

  14. You are going to love the ingredient box if you get to do this. I just did one with Marx Foods and the ingredients are high end and out of the ordinary. Things like fennel pollen, espresso salt, etc.

    I hope you get selected! I know you would rock in it!

  15. YEE – HAW!! — “Foodie Blogroll: Iron Foodie Contest – You are one of the 25 challengers!”

    What’s Next:

    1) Marx Foods will ship you 8 secret ingredients to make a signature dish.
    You must use 3 of the 8 ingredients to create your signature dish. The other 5 ingredients are an extra thank you for participating!

    2) Post your Marx Foods ingredients signature dish on your blog by December 3, 2010.

    Contestants will have until December 3, 2010 to create, photograph and post their recipes on their blogs. We will then set up a poll for FBR members to vote for their favorite! Include the Iron Foodie badge in your post.

    They should tell us why they picked the ingredients that they did to work into a signature recipe, and why that recipe really speaks to their cooking style and philosophy.

    The Prize:

    The winner will receive a $200 store credit to Marxfoods.com! We will also have some fantastic runners-up prizes (TBD) too! So get those chef hats on, and get cooking!

  16. Imagine my surprise when I found out this site belonged to you, good luck FB friend, atleast one dish in this competition I’m 100% positive will be grilled, I didn’t make the cut. Good luck Perry.

  17. Pingback: Iron Foodie: The Ingredients Arrive! « Burnin' Love BBQ – The Blog

  18. Congratulations!! It will be a pleasure competing in the challenge with you! Can’t wait to see what’s in the box!!

  19. Just wanted to say great minds think alike… Your Vistaprint Hog logo I had planned to use on my banners and business cards from them as well. But that was in the early stages of me planning my start up. Your tag line is flippin’ hilarious; so is the “vegetables are what food eats!”

  20. Pingback: I want to be the FIRST IRON FOODIE…and you can help! « Burnin' Love BBQ – The Blog

  21. Pingback: I want to be the FIRST IRON FOODIE…and you can help! « Just another day in cubeville…

  22. Pingback: I want to be the FIRST IRON FOODIE…and you can help! « Rice Cereal Sucks

  23. Pingback: Update on Iron Foodie Contest « Burnin' Love BBQ – The Blog

  24. Pingback: I want to be the FIRST IRON FOODIE…and you can help! « PerryPerkinsBooks

Whatcha' think?

