Mama’s Deviled Eggs


As I’ve mentioned before, Mama wasn’t a big fan of cooking, but the few dishes she made, she did very well. One of these was her Deviled Eggs, usually reserved for church pot-licks, and “covered dish” parties.

Oh, how I loved them.

Now, I’m not gonna lie to you, Mama’s recipe was straight out of her old BH&G Cookbook (which is now MY old BH&G cookbook) but I’ve made a couple of very minor tweaks that I think improve the recipe and, hopefully, will keep me from being sued.

Also, BHG starts out the recipe saying, “Halve hard-cooked eggs lengthwise”…without ever giving any instruction on actually boiling the eggs to begin with. Can’t anyone hardboil an egg? Of course. Can anyone hardboil a GOOD egg…not in my experience.

So, here we go…

Mama’s Deviled Eggs

12 hard-cooked eggs, peeled and halved, yolks mashed in a bowl
5 Tbs. mayonnaise
2 Tbsp. French’s yellow mustard
2 tsp. white vinegar
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. black pepper
Smoked paprika for garnish

Put the eggs in a single layer in a saucepan, cover with cold water (2 inches over the tops of the eggs), add a Tbs of vinegar and ½ tsp of salt. Bring water to a boil, reduce the heat to low, and let simmer for one minute.

Remove the pan from the heat, cover, and let sit for 15 minutes

Strain out the water from the pan, fill the pan with cold water, strain again, fill again, until the eggs cool down a bit. Allow to sit in cold water until eggs have cooled completely.

NOW… Halve hard-cooked eggs lengthwise and carefully scoop yolks into a bowl and mash, setting the whites aside.

Combine the thoroughly mashed yolks and mayonnaise, then stir in the mustard and vinegar. Stir in the salt and pepper, then taste and adjust if necessary. Stir well with a spoon to achieve a creamy texture.*

Fill the egg whites evenly with the mixture and garnish each egg half with a sprinkle of smoked paprika.

*NOTE: Mama never had a stand mixer, but I do. When doing a dozen or more eggs, I like to combine the ingredients in my Kitchen-Aide and give them a good whip, for a lighter, fluffier filling. If making less than a dozen (which is seldom) I use a hand mixer.

Also, sometimes I’ll replace the salt with a teaspoon of my favorite bbq dry rub, just to kick it up a notch!

Any secret  ingredients in your favorite Deviled Egg recipe?

- Perry

7 Comments

Filed under Appetizers & Sides

7 responses to “Mama’s Deviled Eggs

  1. I don’t use vinegar but I do like a bit of sweet relish in mine.

  2. Oh Duane…I still respect you brother. If you’re making them, it’s gotta be good, but still…sweet relish…oy. lol

  3. Melanie

    Perry – that is my family recipe with one minor change, regular paprika versus smoked. Very good!

  4. Perry you know me a lil with my style of cookin, wholeheartedly I agree with the sweet relish and per dozen eggs I’ll add about 3 1/2-4tsp. minced red onion.

  5. di

    I use miracle whip and dijon mustard. I like mine a little sweeter than with mayo. Sometimes I’ll mix in a bit of mayo if it’s too sweet for me.

Whatcha' think?

