Nana’s Chili Egg Puff


My mother-in-law, Dixie, served this on Christmas morning, after the presents were opened. She was kind enough to share the original recipe (jotted down before I was born), and gave me the okay to re-share it here.

Easily, the best egg dish I’ve ever had, and it’ll be the traditional Christmas breakfast at our house from now on!

Light, fluffy, savory, ethereal…like eating an egg-flavored angel.

Here it is, exactly as written down…

Nana’s Chili Egg Puff
10 eggs
1/2 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 pint small-curd cottage cheese
1 lb cojack cheese, grated
1/2 cup butter, melted
4 oz can diced green chilies
12-24 hours in advance:
Beat eggs until a very light lemon color, add flour, baking powder, salt, fold in cottage cheese & butter. Stir in chilies.
Pour mixture into a well- buttered 9×13 dish. Cover and refridgerate over night.
Preheat oven to 350′ and bake 45 minutes covered. Uncover and bake an additional or until center firms.
Serves 12
4 Comments

Filed under Misc Recipes

4 responses to “Nana’s Chili Egg Puff

  1. This looks simply delicious. Wish I had one in the fridge right now. I have just printed this recipe. Thanks Perry, Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. LOL Julie

  2. Bill

    “like eating an egg-flavored angel” Love it!

    I’m gonna make this next week-end. Thanks Perry!

  3. Awesome! I want to try it again, but with pepper-jack cheese (no one else at Christmas breakfast would have appreciated that mod, lol).

    If I like that, I’ll crank it up with some Tillamook Habanero-jack

  4. I like how light this looks compared to the sausage laden standard that most people do. I’ll have to give it a try.

Whatcha' think?

